Latest News

>> The M/V "Norstar" Case (Panama v. Italy)

4 November 2016

The Judgment of the Tribunal on the Preliminary Objections raised by Italy on 11 March 2016 in The M/V “Norstar” Case (Panama v. Italy) was delivered today. The Tribunal finds that it has jurisdiction to adjudicate the dispute and decides that Panama’s application is admissible.

>> Judgment of 4 November 2016

>> Press Release

20th Anniversary Celebrations of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea

11 October 2016

The solemn ceremony to mark the 20th anniversary of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea took place on 7 October 2016 in the City Hall of Hamburg. Mr Joachim Gauck, President of the Federal Republic of Germany, Mr Ban Ki-moon, Secretary-General of the United Nations, Mr Olaf Scholz, First Mayor and President of the Senate of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg, and Mr Vladimir Golitsyn, President of the Tribunal, participated in the ceremony, which was attended by more than 500 guests.

>> Press Release

>> Photos

Capacity Building

>> Internship Programme

The next available internships are from April to June 2017. 

Application deadline: 31 December 2016.