Symposium October 2016


The contribution of the Tribunal to the Rule of Law

Wednesday, 5 October 2016

Welcoming remarks, Vladimir Golitsyn, President of the Tribunal

Panel 1: The Tribunal’s jurisprudence and its contribution to the Rule of Law

Judge David Anderson, former ITLOS Judge 
Judge José Luis Jesus, ITLOS
Judge Elsa Kelly, ITLOS
Judge Jin-Hyun Paik, ITLOS
Judge Tullio Treves, former ITLOS Judge
Chair: President Vladimir Golitsyn

Panel 2: The contribution of the Tribunal to the progressive development of International Law

Professor Doris König, Justice, Constitutional Court of the Federal Republic of Germany 
Professor Francisco Orrego Vicuña, Heidelberg University Center for Latin America
Professor Bernard H. Oxman, University of Miami School of Law
Professor Tullio Scovazzi, University of Milano-Bicocca
Professor Yoshifumi Tanaka, University of Copenhagen
Judge Peter Tomka, International Court of Justice 
Chair: Judge Shunji Yanai, ITLOS

Panel 3: The contribution of the Tribunal to the Rule of Law: the point of view of practitioners

Professor Alan Boyle, Edinburgh Law School
Professor Alain Pellet, Emeritus Professor of the University Paris Ouest Nanterre La Défense, former member and former President of the International Law Commission
Mr Paul Reichler, Partner, Co-Chair, International Litigation and Arbitration Department Foley Hoag LLP
Sir Michael Wood, Barrister, Member of the International Law Commission
Chair: Judge Rüdiger Wolfrum, ITLOS

Thursday, 6 October 2016

Panel 4: Improving working methods in international adjudication

10 – 10:30 a.m.    A view from the ICJ, Judge Ronny Abraham, President of the ICJ
10:30 – 11 a.m.    The experience of the Tribunal, Judge Joseph Akl, ITLOS
11 – 11:30 a.m.    A perspective from the EFTA Court, Judge Carl Baudenbacher, President of the EFTA Court

Panel Discussion

Judge Jean-Pierre Cot, ITLOS
Judge Albert Hoffmann, ITLOS 
Judge Tafsir Ndiaye, ITLOS 
Chair: Vice-President Boualem Bouguetaia, ITLOS

>> Programme

Web Archive