Judge P. Chandrasekhara Rao

Member of the Tribunal since 1 October 1996; re-elected as from 1 October 1999 and 1 October 2008; President of the Tribunal 1999–2002; President of the Special Chamber formed to deal with the Case concerning the Conservation and Sustainable Exploitation of Swordfish Stocks in the South-Eastern Pacific Ocean 2000–2009

Born: India, 22 April 1936. 

Education: B.A., B.L., M.L., LL.D., University of Madras, India; LL.D. h.c., NALSAR University of Law, Hyderabad, India; Doctor of Letters h.c., Krishna University, India.

Professional Experience: Research Officer, Indian Society of International Law (1963–1967); Law Officer (1967–1971), Assistant Legal Adviser (1971–1976), Legal and Treaties Division, Ministry of External Affairs; Counsel for the Government of India in the case concerning the Appeal relating to the Jurisdiction of the International Civil Aviation Organization Council (India v. Pakistan) before the International Court of Justice (1972); Legal Adviser to the Permanent Mission of India to the UN, New York (1972–1976); Deputy Legislative Counsel, Additional Legal Adviser, Joint Secretary and Legal Adviser, Additional Secretary (1976–1988), Secretary (1988–1996), Union Ministry of Law; Sole Arbitrator in Government contracts (1979–1983); Secretary-General, International Center for Alternative Dispute Resolution, New Delhi (1995–1996); Visiting Professor: Osmania University, Hyderabad (1994–1995), Kakatiya University, Warangal (1994–1995), University of Madras (1995–1996). 

Member: Board of Editors, Indian Journal of International Law (1970–present); Indian Society of International Law (Vice-President 1994–2000); Indian delegation to: Legal Sub-Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space (1969–1973, 1975); International Legal Conference on Marine Pollution Damage, Brussels (1969); UNCTAD Working Group on International Shipping Legislation, Geneva (1969); UN Special Committee on Principles of International Law concerning Friendly Relations and Cooperation among States, Geneva (1970); UN Committee on the Peaceful Uses of the Seabed and the Ocean Floor beyond the Limits of National Jurisdiction (1971, 1973); Third UN Conference on the Law of the Sea (1973–1976); UN General Assembly (1972–1975); UNCITRAL (Head of delegation 1972, 1988–1994); Legal Committee of the ICAO (1973); Ad hoc Committee on International Terrorism (1973); Ad hoc Committee on the UN Charter (1975); Commonwealth Law Ministers Meetings held at Bridgetown (1980), Harare (1986), Christchurch (1990), Port Louis (1993), Kuala Lumpur (1996); Ministerial-level Meeting of GATT Contracting Parties, Punta del Este, Uruguay (1986); UN Conference on the Liability of Operators of Transport Terminals in International Trade, Vienna (Chairman of Drafting Committee 1990); Meeting of the International Seabed Authority, Kingston (1996), (Head of delegation); Meeting of States Parties to the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea, New York (1996), (Head of delegation); represented the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea at the Fifty-fourth and Fifty-fifth Sessions of the United Nations General Assembly, the Twelfth, Thirteenth and Fourteenth Meetings of States Parties and the Asian-African Legal Consultative Organization (Abuja, July 2002; New Delhi, June–July 2008).

Publications: Author of books entitled The New Law of Maritime Zones, 1982; The Indian Constitution and International Law, 1993; The Arbitration and Conciliation Act, 1996: A Commentary, 1997; Alternative Dispute Resolution: What it means and how it works (ed.), 1996; The International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea: Law and Practice (co-ed.), 2000; The Rules of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea: A Commentary (co-ed.), 2006.