

## INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE LAW OF THE SEA TRIBUNAL INTERNATIONAL DU DROIT DE LA MER

## **Press Release**

## ELECTION OF SEVEN MEMBERS OF THE INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE LAW OF THE SEA

Hamburg, 22 April. The Twelfth Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea is currently in session in New York. On 19 April 2002, the Meeting of States Parties elected seven Judges for a term of nine years, commencing from 1 October 2002. The States Parties re-elected the following Judges: Hugo Caminos (Argentina), Tafsir Malick Ndiaye (Senegal), Tullio Treves (Italy), Guangjian Xu (China), Alexander Yankov (Bulgaria). In addition, they elected Mr. Lennox Fitzroy Ballah (Trinidad and Tobago) and Mr. Jean-Pierre Cot (France).

The Meeting of States Parties also elected Mr. Lennox Fitzroy Ballah (Trinidad and Tobago) to fill the vacancy that has arisen due to the demise of Judge Edward E. Laing, for the remainder of his term (30 September 2002).

The biographies of those Judges who were re-elected are available on the website of the Tribunal. The biographies of Judges Ballah and Cot may be found in document SPLOS/78 which is available on the website of the Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea of the United Nations at http://www.un.org/Depts/los/index.htm.

The Judges are elected by secret ballot. Each State Party may nominate up to two candidates from among persons who enjoy the highest reputation for fairness and integrity and are of recognised competence in the field of the law of the sea. The persons elected shall be those nominees who obtain the largest number of votes and a two-thirds majority of the States Parties present and voting.

The United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea requires that geographical distribution be assured and that the Judges represent the principal legal systems of the world. There should be at least three Judges from each geographical group and no two Judges of the Tribunal may be of the same nationality. The Judges are elected for a term of nine years and may be re-elected.

The Press Releases of the Tribunal, documents and other information are available on the Tribunal's websites: http://www.itlos.org and http://www.tiddm.org and from the Registry of the Tribunal. Please contact Ms. Julia Pope at Am Internationalen Seegerichtshof 1, 22609 Hamburg, Germany, Tel.: +49 (40) 35607-227, Fax: +49 (40) 35607-245; E-mail: press@itlos.org

\* \* \*