

INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE LAW OF THE SEA TRIBUNAL INTERNATIONAL DU DROIT DE LA MER

Press Release

TRIBUNAL RECONSTITUTES ITS CHAMBERS

On 4 October 2023, the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea reconstituted its chambers during its fifty-sixth administrative session which is currently being held in Hamburg. With the exception of cases relating to Part XI of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea ("the Convention"), over which the Seabed Disputes Chamber has exclusive jurisdiction, disputes brought before the Tribunal are dealt with by the full Tribunal unless both parties agree to refer the dispute to a chamber. The composition and mandates of the Tribunal's chambers are as follows:

Seabed Disputes Chamber

The Seabed Disputes Chamber has exclusive jurisdiction under Part XI, section 5, of the Convention in either contentious or advisory proceedings over disputes or questions relating to the exploration and exploitation of the seabed and ocean floor and the subsoil thereof beyond the limits of national jurisdiction. Pursuant to article 35 of the Statute of the Tribunal, the Chamber is composed of 11 judges, who are selected by the members of the Tribunal every three years. The selection process ensures the representation of the principal legal systems of the world and equitable geographical distribution. The Chamber elects its President from among its members. The composition of the Chamber for the period ending 30 September 2026 is as follows:

President Judge Attard

Members Judges Jesus, Kulyk, Kittichaisaree, Kolodkin, Lijnzaad, Duan,

Brown, Caracciolo, Armas Pfirter, and Joyini

Chamber of Summary Procedure

This Chamber is established annually pursuant to article 15, paragraph 3, of the Statute. It may hear and determine a case by summary procedure if the parties so request. The Chamber may prescribe provisional measures if the Tribunal is not in session or a sufficient number of members is not available to constitute a quorum. The Chamber is composed of five members and two alternates, as provided for by the Statute. The President and the Vice-President of the Tribunal are members ex officio of the Chamber; the President of the Tribunal presides over the Chamber. The Chamber has been constituted as follows for the period ending 30 September 2024:

President President Heidar

Members Vice-President Chadha, Judges Jesus, Kolodkin, and Infante

Caffi

Alternates Judges Rhee and Marciniak

Chamber for Maritime Delimitation Disputes

This Chamber, established pursuant to article 15, paragraph 1, of the Statute, is available to deal with disputes on maritime delimitation. It consists of nine members and is chaired by the President of the Tribunal. The composition of the Chamber for the period ending 30 September 2026 is as follows:

President President Heidar

Members Vice-President Chadha, Judges Jesus, Kolodkin, Brown,

Caracciolo, Kamga, Rhee, and Marciniak

Chamber for Fisheries Disputes

This Chamber, established pursuant to article 15, paragraph 1, of the Statute, is available to deal with disputes concerning the conservation and management of marine living resources. The Chamber consists of nine members. The composition of the Chamber for the period ending 30 September 2026 is as follows:

President Judge Kittichaisaree

Members Judges Bouguetaia, Attard, Kulyk, Infante Caffi, Duan, Horinouchi,

Joyini, and Kamara

Chamber for Marine Environment Disputes

This Chamber, established pursuant to article 15, paragraph 1, of the Statute, is available to deal with disputes relating to the protection and preservation of the marine environment. The Chamber, consisting of nine members, is composed as follows for the period ending 30 September 2026:

President Judge Lijnzaad

Members Judges Bouguetaia, Cabello Sarubbi, Kamga, Armas Pfirter,

Horinouchi, Rhee, Kamara, and Marciniak

Ad hoc chambers

In addition to the chambers established by the Tribunal, parties may request the Tribunal to constitute an *ad hoc* chamber for a particular dispute (Statute, article 15, paragraph 2). The composition of the chamber is determined with the approval of the parties, who may also choose judges *ad hoc* if the chamber does not include a judge of the nationality of either or both of the parties. Such an option therefore combines the advantages of a permanent court with those of an arbitral body but avoids the considerable expense that is often incurred in participating in arbitral proceedings.

To date, four ad hoc chambers have been constituted to deal with the Case concerning the Conservation and Sustainable Exploitation of Swordfish Stocks in the South-Eastern Pacific Ocean (Chile/European Union), the Dispute concerning delimitation of the maritime boundary between Ghana and Côte d'Ivoire in the Atlantic Ocean (Ghana/Côte d'Ivoire), the Dispute concerning delimitation of the maritime boundary between Mauritius and Maldives in the Indian Ocean (Mauritius/Maldives) and The M/T "Heroic Idun" (No. 2) Case (Marshall Islands/Equatorial Guinea).

Further information about the Tribunal's chambers may be found on the website at: https://www.itlos.org/en/main/the-tribunal/chambers/

Note: The press releases of the Tribunal do not constitute official documents and are issued for information purposes only.

The press releases of the Tribunal, documents and other information are available on the Tribunal's websites (http://www.itlos.org and http://www.tidm.org) and from the Registry of the Tribunal. Please contact Ms Julia Ritter or Mr Robert Steenkamp at: Am Internationalen Seegerichtshof 1, 22609 Hamburg, Germany, Tel.: +49 (40) 35607-227; Fax: +49 (40) 35607-245; E-mail: press@itlos.org