

## INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE LAW OF THE SEA TRIBUNAL INTERNATIONAL DU DROIT DE LA MER

## Press Release

## JUDGE HEIDAR ELECTED AS PRESIDENT OF THE TRIBUNAL AND JUDGE CHADHA AS VICE-PRESIDENT

Judge Heidar (Iceland) was elected today by the members of the Tribunal as President and Judge Chadha (India) as Vice-President for the period 2023–2026. The election took place during the fifty-sixth administrative session of the Tribunal.



President Heidar

President Heidar has been a member of the Tribunal since 2014 and Vice-President Chadha since 2017. Their curricula vitae may be found on the <u>website</u> of the Tribunal.

In accordance with the Statute of the Tribunal, the President is elected for a period of three years and may be re-elected. The President presides at all meetings of

the Tribunal, directs its work and supervises its administration. The President represents the Tribunal in its relations with States and other entities and is required by the Statute of the Tribunal to reside permanently at the seat of the Tribunal in Hamburg.



Vice-President Chadha

The Vice-President assumes the functions of the President in the event of a vacancy in the presidency or of the inability of the President to exercise the functions of the presidency.

Note: The press releases of the Tribunal do not constitute official documents and are issued for information purposes only.

The press releases of the Tribunal, documents and other information are available on the Tribunal's websites (<a href="http://www.itlos.org">http://www.itlos.org</a> and <a href="http://www.tidm.org">http://www.tidm.org</a>) and from the Registry of the Tribunal. Please contact Ms Julia Ritter or Mr Robert Steenkamp at:

Am Internationalen Seegerichtshof 1, 22609 Hamburg, Germany,

Tel.: +49 (40) 35607-227; Fax: +49 (40) 35607-245;

E-mail: press@itlos.org