

INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE LAW OF THE SEA TRIBUNAL INTERNATIONAL DU DROIT DE LA MER

<u>Press Release</u>

SIX NEW MEMBERS OF THE TRIBUNAL ARE SWORN IN

At a public ceremony held this morning, Ms Frida María Armas Pfirter (Argentina), Mr Hidehisa Horinouchi (Japan), Mr Thembile Elphus Joyini (South Africa), Mr Osman Keh Kamara (Sierra Leone), Mr Konrad Jan Marciniak (Poland) and Mr Zha Hyoung Rhee (Republic of Korea) were sworn in as members of the Tribunal. The six judges were elected at the thirty-third Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea to serve a term of nine years, commencing on 1 October 2023.

Before taking up their duties, newly-elected judges are required to make a solemn declaration that they will exercise their powers as judges impartially and conscientiously. The declarations were made today at the sitting of the Tribunal.



Judges Joyini, Armas Pfirter, Rhee, Kamara, Horinouchi and Marciniak (from left to right)

The curricula vitae of the six new judges may be found on the <u>website</u> of the Tribunal. A webcast of the ceremony is also available on the <u>website</u>.

Note: The press releases of the Tribunal do not constitute official documents and are issued for information purposes only.

The press releases of the Tribunal, documents and other information are available on the Tribunal's

websites (http://www.itlos.org and http://www.itlos.org and http://www.itlos.org and from the Registry of the Tribunal. Please contact Ms Julia Ritter or Mr Robert Steenkamp at: Am Internationalen Seegerichtshof 1, 22609 Hamburg, Germany, Tel.: +49 (40) 35607-227; Fax: +49 (40) 35607-245;

E-mail: press@itlos.org