

INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE LAW OF THE SEA TRIBUNAL INTERNATIONAL DU DROIT DE LA MER

Press Release

ELECTION OF JUDGE PAIK AS PRESIDENT OF THE TRIBUNAL AND JUDGE ATTARD AS VICE-PRESIDENT

Judge Jin-Hyun Paik (Republic of Korea) was today elected as President of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea and Judge David Attard (Malta) as Vice-President for the period 2017 – 2020 by the members of the Tribunal.

President Paik has been a member of the Tribunal since 2009. In accordance with the Rules of the Tribunal, the President is elected for a period of three years and may be re-elected. He presides at all meetings of the Tribunal, directs its work and supervises its administration. He represents the Tribunal in its relations with States and other entities and is required by the Statute of the Tribunal to reside permanently at the seat of the Tribunal in Hamburg.



President Paik

Vice-President Attard has been a member of the Tribunal since 2011. The Vice-President is elected for a period of three years and assumes the functions of the President in the event of a vacancy in the presidency or of the inability of the President to exercise the functions of the presidency.



Vice-President Attard

The *curricula vitae* of <u>President Paik</u> and <u>Vice-President Attard</u> may be found on the website of the Tribunal.

Note: The press releases of the Tribunal do not constitute official documents and are issued for information purposes only.

The press releases of the Tribunal, documents and other information are available on the Tribunal's websites (<u>http://www.itlos.org</u> and <u>http://www.tidm.org</u>) and from the Registry of the Tribunal. Please contact Ms Julia Ritter at: Am Internationalen Seegerichtshof 1, 22609 Hamburg, Germany, Tel.: +49 (40) 35607-227; Fax: +49 (40) 35607-245; E-mail: <u>press@itlos.org</u>