

INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE LAW OF THE SEA TRIBUNAL INTERNATIONAL DU DROIT DE LA MER

Press Release

(Issued by the Registry)

JUDGE P. CHANDRASEKHARA RAO ELECTED PRESIDENT OF THE INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE LAW OF THE SEA

HAMBURG, 1 October. The Judges of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea today elected Judge P. Chandrasekhara Rao as President for the triennial period 1999 to 2002. President Chandrasekhara Rao (India) has been a Judge of the Tribunal since its establishment in 1996. An abbreviated biography of the President is reproduced below.

The President is elected for a period of three years. The President presides over the meetings of the Judges and over hearings in international disputes submitted to the Tribunal. The President resides at the seat of the Tribunal in the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg, Germany.

The outgoing President, Judge Thomas A. Mensah, conducted the elections for the presidency. He thanked everyone for their support during his term of office as the first President of the Tribunal.

With the election of the new President, the Tribunal enters its second triennium. Three years ago, on 1 October 1996, the Tribunal met for the first time. In the past three years, the Tribunal organized the procedure before it; adopted its Rules, Guidelines concerning the Preparation and Presentation of Cases before the Tribunal, and the Resolution on the Internal Judicial Practice of the Tribunal. In its first triennium, under the presidency of Judge Mensah, the Tribunal has dealt with four cases.

The Tribunal received its first case on the prompt release of a vessel and its crew on 13 November 1997, shortly after the adoption of its Rules. It delivered Judgment on the application three weeks later on 4 December 1997. On 11 March 1998, the Tribunal delivered an order on the Request for the prescription of provisional measures and the Judgment on the merits of the M/V "Saiga" case was delivered on 1 July 1999.

(more)

For information media - not an official record - also available at http://www.un.org/Depts/los/

Press Release ITLOS/Press 30 1 October 1999

On 30 July 1999, Australia and New Zealand filed Requests for the prescription of provisional measures in the Southern Bluefin Tuna case. Again these Requests were dealt with expeditiously and the Order on the Requests was read on 27 August 1999, less than a month after their filing.

The Tribunal also set up the Chamber of Summary Procedure, the Seabed Disputes Chamber, the Chambers on the Marine Environment and Fisheries, and has established various Committees for its internal organization.

President Chandrasekhara Rao P. (Member of the Tribunal since 1 October 1996)

Born: India, 22 April 1936. Education: B.A., B.L., M.L., LL.D., University of Madras, India. Professional Experience: Research Officer, Indian Society of International Law (1963-1967); Law Officer (1967-1971), Assistant Legal Adviser (1971-1976), Legal and Treaties Division, Ministry of External Affairs; Counsel for the Government of India in the case concerning Appeal relating to the Jurisdiction of the International Civil Aviation Organization Council before the International Court of Justice. The Hague (1972): Legal Adviser to the Permanent Mission of India to the UN, New York (1972–1976); Deputy Legislative Counsel, Additional Legal Adviser, Joint Secretary and Legal Adviser, Additional Secretary (1976-1988), Secretary (1988-1996), Union Ministry of Law; Sole Arbitrator in Government contracts (1979-1983); Secretary-General, International Center for Alternative Dispute Resolution, New Delhi (1995-1996); Visiting Professor of Law: Osmania University, Hyderabad (1994-present), Kakatiya University, Warangal (1994-1995), University of Madras (1995-1996). Member: Board of Editors. Indian Journal of International Law (1970-present); Indian Society of International Law (Vice-President 1994-present); Indian delegation to: Legal Sub-Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space (1969–1973, 1975); International Legal Conference on Marine Pollution Damage, Brussels (1969); UNCTAD Working Group on International Shipping Legislation, Geneva (1969); UN Special Committee on Principles of International Law concerning Friendly Relations and Cooperation among States, Geneva (1970); UN Committee on Peaceful Uses of the Seabed and the Ocean Floor beyond the Limits of National Jurisdiction (1971, 1973); Third UN Conference on the Law of the Sea (1973-1976); UN General Assembly (1972-1975); UNCITRAL (Head of delegation 1972, 1988-1994); Legal Committee of the ICAO (1973); Ad hoc Committee on International Terrorism (1973); Ad hoc Committee on the UN Charter (1975); Commonwealth Law Ministers Meetings held at Bridgetown (1980); Harare (1986); Christchurch (1990); Port Louis (1993); Kuala Lumpur (1996); Ministeriallevel Meeting of GATT Contracting Parties, Punta del Este, Uruguay (1986); UN Conference on the Liability of Operators of Transport Terminals in International Trade,

(more)

Press Release ITLOS/Press 30 1 October 1999

Vienna (Chairman of Drafting Committee 1990); Meeting of the International Seabed Authority, Kingston (Head of delegation, 1996); Meeting of States Parties to the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea, New York (Head of delegation 1996). **Publications**: Author of books entitled *The New Law of Maritime Zones* (1982); *The Indian Constitution and International Law* (1993), *The Arbitration and Conciliation Act*, 1996: *A Commentary* (1997); *Alternative Dispute Resolution: What it means and how it works* (ed.), (1996).

The curricula vitae of the other 20 elected Judges can be found in document SPLOS/11. Abbreviated biographies of the Judges may also be obtained from the Registry of the Tribunal.

The Press Releases of the Tribunal, documents and other information are available on the United Nations website: http://www.un.org/Depts/los/ and from the Registry of the Tribunal, Wexstrasse 4, 20355 Hamburg, Germany, Tel: (49) (40) 35607-227/228, Fax: (49) (40) 35607-245/275 or United Nations DC-1, suite 1140, New York, NY 10017, Tel: (1) (212) 963-6480, Fax: (1) (212) 963-0908, E-mail: itlos@itlos.hamburg.de

* * *