

INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE LAW OF THE SEA TRIBUNAL INTERNATIONAL DU DROIT DE LA MER

Press Release

SWEARING-IN OF FIVE NEW JUDGES

At a public ceremony held this morning, Mr Stanislaw Pawlak (Poland), Mr Shunji Yanai (Japan), Mr Helmut Türk (Austria), Mr James Kateka (United Republic of Tanzania) and Mr Albert Hoffmann (South Africa) were sworn in as members of the Tribunal. The five judges were elected on 22 June 2005 at the fifteenth Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea to serve a term of nine years, commencing 1 October 2005. Before taking up their duties, newly-elected judges are required to make the solemn declaration to exercise the powers as judges impartially and conscientiously. The declarations were made today in the presence of the Tribunal.

The curriculum vitae of the five new judges may be found on the website of the Tribunal at: http://www.itlos.org/general_information/judges/text_en.shtml.

The Press Releases of the Tribunal, documents and other information are available on the Tribunal's websites: http://www.itlos.org and http://www.tidm.org and from the Registry of the Tribunal. Please contact Mrs Julia Ritter at Am Internationalen Seegerichtshof 1, 22609 Hamburg, Germany, Tel.: +49 (40) 35607-227, Fax: +49 (40) 35607-245;

E-mail: press@itlos. org