

INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE LAW OF THE SEA TRIBUNAL INTERNATIONAL DU DROIT DE LA MER

Press Release

RECONSTITUTION OF THE CHAMBERS OF THE TRIBUNAL

The International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea has on 2 October reconstituted its chambers. Apart from the specific case of the Seabed Disputes Chamber, all disputes are dealt with by the Tribunal as a full court unless both parties agree to refer the dispute to a chamber. The composition and mandates of the Tribunal's chambers are as follows:

Seabed Disputes Chamber

The Seabed Disputes Chamber has exclusive jurisdiction under Part XI, section 5, of the Convention in either contentious or advisory proceedings over disputes or issues relating to the exploration and exploitation of the seabed and ocean floor and the subsoil thereof beyond the limits of national jurisdiction (the "Area").

The Chamber is composed of 11 judges, who are selected by the members of the Tribunal every three years. The selection process ensures the representation of the principal legal systems of the world and equitable geographical distribution. The Chamber elects its President from among its members. The composition of the Chamber for the period ending 30 September 2017 is as follows:

President Judge Jesus

Members Judges Akl, Ndiaye, Cot, Lucky, Pawlak, Yanai, Kateka, Paik, Kelly, Attard

Four special chambers have been established in accordance with article 15 of the Statute; cases may be submitted to them at the request of the parties to a dispute:

Chamber of Summary Procedure

This Chamber is established annually pursuant to article 15, paragraph 3, of the Statute.

The Chamber may hear and determine a case by summary procedure if the parties so request. The Chamber may prescribe provisional measures if the Tribunal is not in session or a sufficient number of members is not available to constitute a quorum. The Chamber is composed of five members and two alternates, as provided for by the Statute. The President and the Vice-President of the Tribunal are members ex officio of the Chamber; the President of the Tribunal presides over the Chamber. The Chamber has been constituted as follows for the period ending 30 September 2015:

President President Golitsyn

Members Vice-President Bouguetaia, Judges Chandrasekhara Rao, Wolfrum, Jesus

Alternates Judges Cot, Attard

Chamber for Maritime Delimitation Disputes

This Chamber and two other Chambers are established for a period of three years pursuant to article 15, paragraph 1, of the Statute.

The Chamber is available to deal with disputes on maritime delimitation. The Chamber consists of eleven members and is chaired by the President of the Tribunal. The composition of the Chamber for the period ending 30 September 2017 is as follows:

President President Golitsyn

Members Vice-President Bouguetaia, Judges Chandrasekhara Rao, Wolfrum,

Ndiaye, Jesus, Yanai, Hoffmann, Gao, Gómez-Robledo, Heidar

Chamber for Fisheries Disputes

The Chamber is available to deal with disputes concerning the conservation and management of marine living resources. The Chamber consists of nine members. The composition of the Chamber for the period ending 30 September 2017 is as follows:

President Judge Lucky

Members Judges Marotta Rangel, Wolfrum, Ndiaye, Yanai, Kateka, Gao, Kulyk,

Heidar

Chamber for Marine Environment Disputes

The Chamber is available to deal with disputes relating to the protection and preservation of the marine environment. The Chamber, consisting of nine members, is composed as follows for the period ending 30 September 2017:

President Judge Kateka

Members Judges Pawlak, Hoffmann, Gao, Paik, Kelly, Attard, Kulyk, Gómez-

Robledo

Ad hoc chambers

In addition to the Chambers established by the Tribunal, parties may request the Tribunal to constitute an *ad hoc* chamber for a particular dispute (Statute, article 15, paragraph 2). The composition of the chamber is determined with the approval of the parties, who may also choose judges *ad hoc* if the chamber does not include a judge of the nationality of either or both of the parties. Such an option therefore combines the advantages of a permanent court with those of an arbitral body, but avoids the considerable expense that is often incurred in participating in arbitral proceedings.

TLOS/Press 218 7 October 2014

The press releases of the Tribunal, documents and other information are available on the Tribunal's websites (http://www.itlos.org and http://www.tidm.org) and from the Registry of the Tribunal. Please contact Ms Julia Ritter at: Am Internationalen Seegerichtshof 1, 22609 Hamburg, Germany, Tel.: +49 (40) 35607-227; Fax: +49 (40) 35607-245; E-mail: press@itlos.org