

## INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE LAW OF THE SEA TRIBUNAL INTERNATIONAL DU DROIT DE LA MER

## **Press Release**

## ELECTION OF SEVEN MEMBERS OF THE INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE LAW OF THE SEA

On Wednesday, 11 June 2014 seven Members of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea were elected at the twenty-fourth Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea, in session at the United Nations Headquarters in New York. The judges were elected for a term of nine years commencing on 1 October 2014.

The States Parties re-elected the following five Members: Judge Yanai (Japan), Judge Hoffmann (South Africa), Judge Pawlak (Poland), Judge Kateka (Tanzania) and Judge Paik (Republic of Korea). In addition, the Meeting elected Mr Alonso Gómez-Robledo Verduzco (Mexico) and Mr Tomas Heidar (Iceland).

The biographies of the re-elected judges are available on the website of the Tribunal and those of Mr Gómez-Robledo Verduzco and Mr Heidar may be found in document SPLOS/266, which is available on the website of the Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea of the United Nations.

Elections for one third of the judges of the Tribunal, namely seven judges, are held every three years at the Meeting of States Parties. The judges are elected by the States Parties to the Convention by secret ballot for a term of nine years and may be re-elected. In accordance with article 2 of the Tribunal's Statute, each State Party may nominate up to two candidates from among persons enjoying the highest reputation for fairness and integrity and of recognized competence in the field of the law of the sea.

The Statute also requires that equitable geographical distribution be assured among the Members and that the principal legal systems of the world be represented. It further stipulates that there should be at least three Judges from each geographical group as established by the General Assembly of the United Nations and that no two judges may be of the same nationality. The persons elected shall be those nominees who obtain the largest number of votes and a two-thirds majority of the States Parties present and voting, provided that such majority includes a majority of the States Parties.

> Note: The press releases of the Tribunal do not constitute official documents. They are issued for information purposes only.

The press releases of the Tribunal, documents and other information are available on the Tribunal's websites: <u>http://www.itlos.org</u> and <u>http://www.tidm.org</u> and from the Registry of the Tribunal. Please contact Ms Julia Ritter at: Am Internationalen Seegerichtshof 1, 22609 Hamburg, Germany, Tel.: +49 (40) 35607-227; Fax: +49 (40) 35607-245;

E-mail: press@itlos.org