

INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE LAW OF THE SEA TRIBUNAL INTERNATIONAL DU DROIT DE LA MER

Press Release

ARBITRATORS APPOINTED IN THE ARBITRAL PROCEEDINGS INSTITUTED BY THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES AGAINST THE PEOPLE'S REPUBLIC OF CHINA

On 24 April 2013, the President of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea, Judge Shunji Yanai, appointed three arbitrators to serve as members of the arbitral tribunal instituted under Annex VII to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea ("the Convention") in respect of a dispute between the Republic of the Philippines and the People's Republic of China. The three arbitrators are Jean-Pierre Cot (France), Chris Pinto (Sri Lanka) and Alfred Soons (the Netherlands). The President appointed Chris Pinto as president of the arbitral tribunal.

By a Notification and Statement of Claim dated 22 January 2013, the Republic of the Philippines instituted arbitral proceedings against the People's Republic of China pursuant to Annex VII to the Convention. In accordance with article 3, subparagraph (b), of Annex VII to the Convention, the Notification and Statement of Claim included the appointment of Rüdiger Wolfrum (Germany) as a member of the arbitral tribunal.

Article 3, subparagraph (c), of Annex VII to the Convention provides that the "other party to the dispute shall, within 30 days of receipt of the notification [instituting proceedings], appoint one member" of the arbitral tribunal and "[i]f the appointment is not made within that period, the party instituting the proceedings may ... request that the appointment be made" by the President of the Tribunal.

By letter dated 22 February 2013 from the Agent and Solicitor General of the Republic of the Philippines, the Philippines requested the President of the Tribunal to appoint one member of the arbitral tribunal, pursuant to article 3, subparagraphs (c) and (e), of Annex VII to the Convention.

Further to consultations by correspondence with the Parties, the President of the Tribunal, pursuant to article 3, subparagraphs (c) and (e), of Annex VII to the Convention, appointed Stanislaw Pawlak (Poland) as arbitrator in the arbitral proceedings.

Article 3, subparagraph (d), of Annex VII to the Convention provides that if the parties are unable to reach agreement on the appointment of one or more of the other three members of the tribunal, or on the appointment of the president of the arbitral tribunal, these appointments shall be made by the President of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea at the request of a party to the dispute. In accordance with article 3, subparagraph (e), of Annex VII to the Convention, the appointments "shall be made from the list referred to in article 2 of [the] Annex within a period of 30 days of the receipt of the request and in consultation with the parties".

By letter dated 25 March 2013 from the Agent and Solicitor General of the Republic of the Philippines, the Philippines requested the President of the Tribunal, pursuant to article 3, subparagraphs (d) and (e), of Annex VII to the Convention, to "appoint the three additional members of the arbitral tribunal and name one among them to serve as the president of the tribunal".

Further to consultations by correspondence with the Parties concerning the appointment of three arbitrators and the president of the arbitral tribunal, the President of the Tribunal appointed Jean-Pierre Cot (France), Chris Pinto (Sri Lanka) and Alfred Soons (the Netherlands) as arbitrators in the arbitral proceedings. The President appointed Chris Pinto as president of the arbitral tribunal.

As a result, the composition of the five-member Annex VII arbitral tribunal is as follows: Chris Pinto, president (Sri Lanka), Jean-Pierre Cot (France), Stanislaw Pawlak (Poland), Alfred Soons (the Netherlands) and Rüdiger Wolfrum (Germany).

Note: The press releases of the Tribunal do not constitute official documents and are issued for information purposes only.

The press releases of the Tribunal, documents and other information are available on the Tribunal's websites (http://www.itlos.org and http://www.tidm.org) and from the Registry of the Tribunal. Please contact Ms Julia Ritter at: Am Internationalen Seegerichtshof 1, 22609 Hamburg, Germany, Tel.: +49 (40) 35607-227; Fax: +49 (40) 35607-245; E-mail: press@itlos.org